Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is an engineering entrance examination conducted for admission to BE/BTech, BPlan and BArch courses at the IIITs (Indian Institute of Information Technology), NITs (National Institute of Technology) and other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs) across the country.
The Joint Seat Allocation Authority (JoSAA) conducts the joint admission process for a total of 23 Indian Institute of Technology campuses, 32 National Institute of Technology campuses, 18 Indian Institute of Information Technology campuses, Indian School of Mines and 19 other Government Funded Technical Institutes (GFTIs) based on the rank obtained by a student in JEE Mains and JEE Advanced.
JEE is constituted by two different examinations - JEE Main and the JEE Advanced.


The students can avail a maximum of three consecutive attempts for JEE Main and two consecutive attempts for JEE Advanced. The first attempt is taken soon after 12th board exams followed by the other attempts in consecutive years. The exam will be held twice a year so total attempts a candidate can appear for are six.


It is mandatory for all students appearing for JEE Main that they must have pursued at least 5 subjects with Physics and Maths as their core subjects in their qualifying examinations. Students who have studied less than 5 subjects in their qualifying exam are not eligible for JEE Main. Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Language and one more subject of choice is required as eligibility for JEE Main.
To make it more clear for B.E./ B.Tech, the subjects included are language, Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry/ Biology/Biotechnology/Technical Vocational Subject, and any other subject. For B.Arch/B. Planning the subjects included are Language, Physics, Mathematics (mandatory), Chemistry/Biology/Biotechnology/Technical Vocational Subject, and any other subject.


For the candidates belonging to general category-The students must have secured a minimum of 75% marks in their class 12th board exams or they must rank among the top 20 percentile in their qualifying examination for getting admissions in IITs, NITs, IIITs and other CFTIs.
For candidates belonging to a reserved category, a minimum of 65% marks is required for getting admissions in different undergraduate courses offered at IITs, NITs, IIITs and other CFTIs.
JEE Main eligibility criteria for repeaters and class 12th candidates have to be fulfilled by all the engineering aspirants. Meanwhile, JEE Main is also an eligibility test for students aspiring to sit for JEE Advanced. The top 2,50,000 candidates who qualify in the Main exam will be allowed to appear for the Advanced exam.

For More Information Please Visit-


Joint Entrance Exam (Main) is a common entrance exam conducted at the national level to facilitate the admission of students in undergraduate courses offered by various government and private engineering institutes in India. The exam is usually held in the months of January and April and is conducted by NTA who is also responsible for releasing application forms, admit cards, and declaring the results.
However, candidates have to keep one important thing in mind. To avoid the rejection of JEE Main application form, applicants should go through and have a clear knowledge of the eligibility criteria for JEE Main. It is mandatory for engineering aspirants to meet all the requirements. Qualified students will be eligible to get admissions in B.Tech, B.E, B.Arch, Integrated MSc courses in premier engineering institutes like NITs, IIITs after successful completion of JEE Main exam.
JEE (Main) will also be an eligibility test for the JEE (Advanced), which the candidate has to take if he/she is aspiring for admission to the undergraduate programs offered by the IITs.

For More Information on JEE (Advanced) Please visit-


CEE (Assam)

CIT (Kokrajhar)


JEE Advanced

JEE Advanced is the second phase of IIT JEE that is mainly conducted after JEE Main. The exam is conducted every year by different IITs on a rotation basis under the supervision of IIT – JAB (Joint Admission Board). Based on the performance in the exam, students are granted admissions into various undergraduate courses offered at top IITs and ISM in the country. With some recent changes, the examination will be conducted in a computer-based online test comprising of two papers (Paper 1 and Paper 2). The exam will also be carried out in two sessions on the same day. Students have to appear for both Paper 1 and Paper 2 and clear them to have their names included in the merit list.
Around the top 2.5 lakh score holders in JEE Main will be eligible to apply for JEE Advanced for admission to various undergraduate engineering programmes offered by IITs in India. The counselling cum seat allotment for all the IITs, NITs, IIITs and CFTIs will be organised and managed by the Join Seat Allocation Authority (JOSAA). In 2019, 107 institutes participated in JOSAA Counselling.
The Indian Institutes of Technology (popularly known as IITs) are institutions of national importance established through an Act of Parliament for fostering excellence in education. There are Twenty Three IITs at present, located in Varanasi, Bhilai, Bhubaneswar, Mumbai, New Delhi, Dhanbad, Dharwad, Gandhinagar, Goa, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jammu, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Chennai, Mandi, Palakkad, Patna, Roorkee, Ropar and Tirupati.
Over the years, IITs have created a world class educational platform that is dynamically sustained through quality teaching and internationally acclaimed research with excellent infrastructure and the best available minds. Each institute has well-equipped modern laboratories, state-of-the-art computer network and well stocked technical library. The faculty and alumni of IITs occupy key positions in academia and industry, both in India and abroad, and continue to make a considerable impact in all sections of the Society.
Through JEE (Advanced), IITs offer admission into undergraduate courses leading to a Bachelor’s, Integrated Master’s or Bachelor-Master Dual Degree in Engineering, Sciences, or Architecture.